Easy Driver no longer powers Stepper Motor; Board issue?

Obligatory I’m new at this. Ok, let’s go:

I have a setup using the SparkFun Red Board, the Schmaltz Easy Driver, a 400 step motor, and a variable 0-30 V power supply that can deliver up to 2A.

Main Motor Specs:
2 Phase, 3.06 V max, 1.7 A/phase

Easy Driver Specs:
Up to 30 V load supply, 750-850 mA output current

Now, I recognize that the motor current requirement is above what the Easy Driver can deliver, but it was driving the motor when I first started using the setup (I inherited this setup).
I have since tried using it together and while the Easy Driver board lights up and delivers signal to the motor (as seen on a scope reading), the voltage it delivers is very low (like an amplitude of 189 mV).

Does anyone have insight into what happened to the set up? I have turned up the voltage on the power supply to 20 V +, but that’s not doing anything. Why would the voltage delivered be so low?
Also, the Easy Driver has a potentiometer for adjusting the current, but that hasn’t seemed to make a difference, although I’m open to any suggestions regarding how to test that.

kowabunga:
Now, I recognize that the motor current requirement is above what the Easy Driver can deliver, but it was driving the motor when I first started using the setup (I inherited this setup).
I have since tried using it together and while the Easy Driver board lights up and delivers signal to the motor (as seen on a scope reading), the voltage it delivers is very low (like an amplitude of 189 mV).

How was the current limit set on the Easydriver board?

Be VERY CAREFUL never to disconnect the wires between the motor and the stepper driver while the driver is powered up. The driver will be instantly destroyed,

With that in mind can you connect a suitable current meter between the Easydriver and one of the motor coils and see what current is provided while the motor is stationary.