Editing examples

Hey, im currently trying to edit the physical pixel code so that i can input words to move the led on and off and i hope to get this working with positioning with a servo motor however im getting really confused with it. I have tried to edit the code so i can use a word instead of a character and the board is recognising the key presses but when i hit enter the led does not change. I tried changing the int incomingByte; line to word incomingByte; but this did not solve my problem, any chances anybody knows how i could do this? Im new to this arduino stuff and im finding it really interesting but its difficult to get to grips with at the moment. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Hey, I'm currently trying to edit the physical pixel code...

It would be much easier to help you if we could see your code.

If you have something in the code now named incomingByte, and it is appropriately named, it implies that you are reading data from the serial port.

Data arrives on the serial port one byte at a time. It is up to you to put those individual bytes into an appropriately typed array (hint: look at the char type), with appropriate delimiting (C strings are NULL terminated).

How much programming experience do you have? An answer that is in terms of minutes tells us one thing; an answer in terms of years tells us another.

I tried changing the int incomingByte; line to word incomingByte;

It's worth pointing out that "word" here equates to a computer word; in the case of an Arduino, this is the same size as an "int" (though it is handled very slightly differently), or two bytes.