EEPROM error, must be missing something

I’m trying to compile the following short blurb of code in a library, but it’s giving me the following error (… for omissions):

...\EEPROM.cpp: In function 'unsigned char memByteEEPROM(const void*)':

...\EEPROM.cpp:14:51: error: 'EEPROM' was not declared in this scope

unsigned char memByteEEPROM(const void* x){return EEPROM.read(x);}

I feel like I’m missing something obvious, especially because I’m new to cpp. It worked fine when my library was one file, but now that I tried to split it into different headers and cpp files, this EEPROM error is coming up.

The relevant code in EEPROM.cpp is below:

#include <EEPROM.h>
#include <Arduino.h>

/* return EEPROM byte at address x */
unsigned char memByteEEPROM(const void* x){return EEPROM.read(x);}

Relevant portions of the headers and linked headers are also below.

This is EEPROM.h

#ifndef EEPROM_h
#define EEPROM_h

#include "Dump.h"

#endif

This is Dump.h

#ifndef dump_h
#define dump_h

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <HardwareSerial.h>
#include <EEPROM.h>

#endif

I’m compiling on win10 in the arduino IDE, 1.8.5 for the Arduino Uno. Any help is appreciated! I have tried removing the “#include <EEPROM.h>” from dump.h or EEPROM.h so I don’t think double including the EEPROM has anything to do with it?

the parameter of read is an int address

uint8_t read( int idx )

why are you passing it an pointer to void?

Hmm... seems you're right on that one, I am now casting the void * to a uint8_t now. However, I'm still getting the same error as before, and compilation stops before before it even gets to the point where it would have an issue with a void * not being uint8_t. Also tried changing the parameter itself to a uint8_t, but the compiler's still hitting the EEPROM error above and exiting straight away.

when you call the function memByteEEPROM() what is the parameter type?

are you writing your own EEPROM.CPP?