EEPROM Password Help

I have 3 buttons (pull-up), each writes a 4 bit binary code to the EEPROM, the number of bits is recorded as passwordLength.

I then have 4th button (pull-up) which prints the password recorded.

What can I do to make this passcode work?
If my password is 1, 2, 3 (000100100011), how do I input 1, 2, 3 and compare it to the EEPROM data?

I am totally new to EEPROM and Arduino altogether.

If someone can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

#include <EEPROM.h>
int button_1 = 5;
int button_2 = 6;
int button_3 = 7;
int button_4 = 8;
int bit_1;
int bit_2;
int bit_3;
int bit_4;
int buttonState = 1;
int eepromAddress=1;
int passwordLength=0; 

//write 4 bit binary to the eeprom and record amount of bits as passwordLength
//write_Binary function specifies which button is pressed and writes the corresponding 4 bit data

void write_Binary(int button, int b1, int b2, int b3, int b4){

int buttonState = digitalRead(button);
  while(buttonState == 0){

EEPROM.write(eepromAddress, b1);
      Serial.print(EEPROM.read(eepromAddress));
      eepromAddress++;
      passwordLength++;

EEPROM.write(eepromAddress, b2);
      eepromAddress++;
      passwordLength++;

EEPROM.write(eepromAddress, b3);
      eepromAddress++;
      passwordLength++;

EEPROM.write(eepromAddress, b4);
      eepromAddress++;
      passwordLength++;

//total bit length is stored in EEPROM address 0
      EEPROM.write(0, passwordLength);

Serial.print(" ");
      Serial.println("Password Length: ");
      Serial.println(passwordLength);

while(buttonState == 0){
      buttonState = digitalRead(button);
      delay(10);
    }
  }
}

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(button_1, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(button_2, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(button_3, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(button_4, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop() {

//assigns each button a 4 bit binary code
write_Binary(button_1, 0, 0, 0, 1);
write_Binary(button_2, 0, 0, 1, 0);
write_Binary(button_3, 0, 0, 1, 1);