EEPROM Programming

Hello,

I'm new to Arduino and programming in general, however I'm muddling my way through by following the examples, watching tutorials etc.

I'm building a test rig that is intended to complete 250,000 cycles. I'm going to be logging data at regular intervals onto an SD card, perhaps creating new files per set interval or time scale i.e per day, week, etc. I'm trying to come up with a solution for storing the total completed cycles perhaps to the nearest 10 cycles. Should the power be lost to the rig, on power up I'd like to read the total completed cycles to call into my program loop.

Would it be feasible to use the EEPROM on my UNO for this function? If so, how would I go about it?

Thanks

I would do this in two parts:

1. Use one Arduino to gather the data.

2. Use a separate Arduino, serial data logger to store the data. https://github.com/JChristensen/serialLogger

You can use and a FRAM memory to store the data. Can access it as fast as you would an SRAM, yet it has EEPROMs nonvolatility without EEPROMs slow (3.3mS) write speed.

http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en/integrated-circuits-ics/memory/2556980?FV=fff40027%2Cfff80434%2C268001d&mnonly=0&newproducts=0&ColumnSort=1000011&page=1&stock=1&pbfree=0&rohs=0&k=fram&quantity=&ptm=0&fid=0&pageSize=25
Say you used an 8K FRAM. Every 10 cycles you set a bit in one address, working your way across.
8192 bytes x 8 bits/byte x 10 cycles per bit = 655,360 cycles.
Or use a smaller part, and every 10 cycles update an unsigned long number stored in a location.
With 1 Trillion to 100 Trillion write cycles endurance, you could log every cycle if you wanted.

How exact do you need the count to be? If you can miss a handful of cycles, you could just log the count to a file on the SD card every once in a while.