eeprom question

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to arduino and have been slowly working on a hydroponic controller.

I have a LCD 16x2 shield and have the arduino controlling the backlight using analogWrite.

I have made a menu and when you go into the back light part of the menu i have the back light value show as a percentage. 0% off 100% fully on.

I have the up and down button controlling the back light percentage so the up button makes the back light brighter by 10%, and up again goes to 20% and so on. This worked great until i needed to save the value to the eeprom to save it when you go in and out of the back light menu.

What happens is when you go into the menu it shows for instance 10% brightness. you press the up button a few times to make it 50% brightness. when you exit the menu it save to the eeprom using EEPROM.update. But when you go back into the back light menu it will show 49%!

My question is how do i make it stay at 50% instead of 49%? maybe rounding or something?

I have posted the code so hopefully that will help show what im doing wrong?

//I have posed this to show what i did before the void setup and void loop
#include <EEPROM.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);

int backLightPin = 10;

const int PHSetPointAddress = 0;
const int PHDoseTimeAddress = 8;
const int PHDoseIntervalAddress = 16;
const int CFSetPointAddress = 24;
const int CFDoseTimeAddress = 32;
const int CFDoseIntervalAddress = 40;
float backLightAddress = 48;

//End of stuff before void setup and loop

void BackLight()
{
  float backLight = 255; //initial backlight
  int Percentage = 0;
  backLight = EEPROM.read(backLightAddress);

lcd.clear();
  lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  lcd.print("Up and down keys");
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print("Backlight:");

while (ReadKeypad() != 'L')
  {
    btn_push = ReadKeypad();
    WaitBtnRelease();
    if (btn_push == 'D')
    {
      backLight -= (255 - 0) * 0.1;
      if (backLight <= 0)
        backLight = 0;
    }