Electric assisted steering for a go kart?

Hi for a project I am making an electric off road go kart, and the steering is going to consist of tie rods as that seems the most simplest. However it does require a decent amount of force to move the wheel, and I was wondering how feasible it would be to use a servo motor to assist a little bit, would this be possible?

I’ve never seen it done like this before and I was wondering what the draw backs would be, i know it would be too dangerous to do it fly by wire, so assistance is probably best. I have some experience with motors and servos having made an RC controlled car. but this is a a much bigger scale and I’m lost how I would go about it.

An idea I have is, connected to the steering column would be a pot, which would control the servo, giving the steering a little bit more force.

Frostburn:
Hi for a project I am making an electric off road go kart, and the steering is going to consist of tie rods as that seems the most simplest. However it does require a decent amount of force to move the wheel, and I was wondering how feasible it would be to use a servo motor to assist a little bit, would this be possible?

I’ve never seen it done like this before and I was wondering what the draw backs would be, i know it would be too dangerous to do it fly by wire, so assistance is probably best. I have some experience with motors and servos having made an RC controlled car. but this is a a much bigger scale and I’m lost how I would go about it.

An idea I have is, connected to the steering column would be a pot, which would control the servo, giving the steering a little bit more force.

One drawback will be the extra weight of the battery to power the servo. Another is the lack of feedback from your steering system. It needs to be self centering.