Electric space heater wifi control (new to arduino)

Hey all.

First post here. I am new to arduino, so please bear with me.

I have a Dimplex Cadiz 3KW electric portable space heater (Amazon link)

I would like to know if it is possible to create an arduino based wifi controller for this heater. I would like to connect the board to the existing wiring inside the heater, as there is quite a bit of space behind the front cover, under the display and keypad.

The heater has a thermostat built in, so I can set it to a certain degree and it will stop when reaching that. Here is a preview of the UI:

I would like to have the ON/OFF button, as well as the UP, DOWN and the M buttons wifi controllable. Not really interested in the rest as, after 2 years of using the heater, I only used those buttons (the M button changes the side of the heater that get heated up).

Can someone please let me know if this is feasible. Would I be able to safely link the new hardware to the heater's current? Or make it work with a battery? Would I be able to turn the heater on/off?

Probably. The layout of the buttons doesn't tell us much. You'll need to analyse the circuit a bit more.

KenF:
Probably. The layout of the buttons doesn't tell us much. You'll need to analyse the circuit a bit more.

what should I look for? what kind of info would be helpful?

For the "hardware hack", a relay is an electrically controlled switch so a relay wired across each switch is the "safest" way to go when you have unknown circuitry.

It might be easier to start-over with a "dumb" heater that has a regular-old mechanical power switch (there's usually also an uncalibrated temperature-control knob). A heater like that will come-on when you plug it back in after unplugging it or removing power, so you can control it by simply turning on & off the power.