Electrical Advice

Hello All,

I'm working on a home automation project - this is my first project that attempts to incorporate automation.

My device uses a NEMA 23 Stepper Motor to drive a platform 2ft (total travel). At the end of the movement, I need to turn on and off an electromagnet w/ +300 lbs of holding force.

I see a couple posts that show how I could control one or the other device, but I'm struggling to find a control / power supply that can handle both items. Below are some of the details - Any advice or thought on how to control these two items would be greatly appreciated. Again, I'm a novice - please type slowly :wink:

NEMA 23 Stepper Motor; P/N: 25311-02, https://www.inventables.com/technologies/stepper-motor-nema-23)
2.3V, 2.8A

Electromagnet; P/N: EM300-3-222, http://catalog.apwcompany.com/item/electromagnets/3-0-diameter-round-electromagnets-em300/em300-3-222?
3V, 5A

Thanks

It will be easier for you if you use 5V or 12V devices.

They will take less current and you will be able to source a power supply much more easily.

Thank you for the reply - I was able to locate both components in 12V options. I imagine this will get me moving in the right direction. Thanks again

This may be overkill, but you could buy a reprap (open source 3D printer) RAMPS board, which is basically a sheild that plugs into a Arduino Mega 2560 and can drive multiple stepper motors (5 I think ) and also has FET's for switching heater loads, which take far more current than your requirements.

e.g.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Brand-New-3D-Printer-Controller-for-RAMPS-1-4-REPRAP-MENDEL-PRUSA-for-Arduino-/231210615229?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35d53a01bd

And just get the stepper drivers separately (as you don't need are 5 stepper motors drivers and they are a couple of dollars each)