Electrical Harmonics Experimentation

Hello,

I'm new to arduino (and electronics for that matter) but I have a hunch and want to start to use the computer board to do some experimentation using harmonics with electrical signal generation.

I've seen you can buy signal generator boards (although I don't know which one(s) to use) on aliexpress but I need to be able do the following:

1. I need to be able to vary the frequencies and voltages of the signals programmatically, creating a looping effect for experimentation, is this possible?
  2. In order to combine 2 or more signals (to create the harmonics), how many signal generator boards will I need? And, how should I connect them together to produce harmonics effects?
  3. What do I need to avoid doing to avoid damage of the circuits?

Any help/advice will be greatly appreciated.

If you are interested in audio frequencies [u]Audacity[/u] can generate sine, square, and sawtooth “tones” on your computer, and of course you czn play the sounds through your soundcard. You can mix the waveforms and display a spectrum or spectrogram.

Thanks, interesting idea but unfortunately, I want to experiment with electrical harmonics and not audio harmonics.

, I want to experiment with electrical harmonics and not audio harmonics.

What is the difference between these two? I don’t know any.

In order to combine 2 or more signals (to create the harmonics)

A single signal can contain many harmonics.

One place to start reading and learning more about harmonics is here. While studying these ideas, you should also learn about the Superposition Principle.

One place to start reading and learning more about harmonics is here. While studying these ideas, you should also learn about the Superposition Principle.

Is that the same superpostion that Quantum Mechanics refers to?

Combining two or more signals create "products", not harmonics.

Paul

Is that the same superpostion that Quantum Mechanics refers to?