electromagnet

Hi all!

I’m wondering the easiest way to use the arduino to control a simple electromagnet.

Thanks in advance!

A relay is basically an electromagnet, so search the forum for info on hooking up a relay and use that as a starting point.

The simplest way would probably be to use an I/O line to control a MOSFET or transistor that switches power to your electromagnet (as an I/O line by itself will probably not be able to source the current needed to drive an electromagnet.

• Ben

Thanks for the replies guys.

I was thinking a transistor would be the easiest way to set it up.

Should I be concerned about current/heat the electromagnet will produce. I was thinking of using a 9v or a 1.5 battery which should provide enough power. I would also use an inline resistor on the digital out of the arduino before the base (1k). I’m new to microelectronics so forgive my probable newbness.

Do I need a transistor to handle up to 1amp of current? more? or will the smaller ones for 500ma etc… work? Should it have a heat sync? I don’t need the magnet to be powered for very long - like a relay, it will just need to be enough for the magnet to pull what I’m attracting to it.

Again, thanks for your help guys.

cyberal

FYI there was a huge post about this about 6 months ago in the forum. if you search it with Google I think you will find some terrific information.

D

thanks for the feedback Daniel2,

I’ve been surfing around and found a few posts that seem applicable. The solenoid one in particular. Sure is a lot to learn, I think I’m just starting to wrap my head around this language of electronics. In some ways it is similar to programming, which I’m more familiar with.

cheers,
cyberal

I’m doing a project with solenoids right now and the easiest way I found to control them is by using an uln2003a transistor array. Those are gated so you get an on/off output instead of a linear output as from a regular transistor.