elementary math

I would like to use Arduino to permit our students an opportunity to see math in action by asking them to edit code that will power a stepper on a hacked scanner. If successful, we plan to build a robot that will navigate a course based upon their equations. These are elementary students so the numbers must be no greater than three digits or much less for the little ones. The code is a failed attempt to achieve this goal. As you may guess, I am not a programmer but wonder if there is some way to assign a value to a variable that is within “range” and then students can use an appropriate operator to adjust from there. Hope this makes sense?

#include <Stepper.h>

#define motorStep 400
#define motorPin1 8
#define motorPin2 9
#define motorPin3 10
#define motorPin4 11
#define turn 12

int count;

Stepper myStepper(motorStep, motorPin1,motorPin2,motorPin3,motorPin4);

void setup() {
myStepper.setSpeed(40);
Serial.begin(9600);
count = 1;
digitalWrite (turn, HIGH);
}

void loop () {
if (count) {
count–;
Serial.println (“Forward”);
myStepper.step(1500+1400);
delay(500);

Serial.println (“Backward”);
myStepper.step(-1500-1400);
delay(500);
}
}

is there some way to assign a value to a variable that is within “range” and then students can use an appropriate operator to adjust from there. Hope this makes sense?

Hi frank, its not clear to me what you want to do, can you clarify?

Sorry, I should have posted a clear example.

My scanner stepper runs about 1800 steps to push/pull the laser bar from one end to the other. For simplicity, let's say that is the goal; moving the bar across the box from one location to another. For the upper grades, I could assign a value of 1000. They would have to add/subtract a number from 1000 to guide the bar to the goal. The line of code - myStepper.step (-1500 -1400) is an awkward attempt to create an equation. For a robot to cover a distance of just a few feet, we would be using numbers well beyond their ability.