Elevator project(noob alert)

What stepper motor would be ideal to lift Approximately 10lbs up and down an elevator, I want it to be about 4-5ft high. I'm using a arduino UNO... I'm a noob to Arduino:( what else would I need to Operate the stepper motor? Shields? Oh and I want to use a IR sensor to make it stop at 3 points...

This read will help...
https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/motors-and-selecting-the-right-one

I am not sold on using a stepper... I think a DC reversible motor with an appropriate gear box is a better fit.

Ray

Mr. B has a point. If you have an SUV with a WINCH (be careful not to call it a WENCH or you'll get lots of wise cracks from the "mates" in the UK) it is a DC motor with a gearbox. A hummer can WINCH itself UP straight up cliff so they obviously are very
strong. I think an automobile starter motor with a gearbox would be perfect , driven with a car battery and probably an automotive grade IGBT. It might be a bit of a challenge to find the gearbox though. If I had to do it I would probably go with stepper motors with drive belts and stacked pulleys. (slide two pulleys on a shaft, one large one small) . The stepper motor has a small pulley and
turns a large pulley that also has a small pulley. For a 10 to 1 ratio, the large pulley is 10 times the diameter of the small pulley. It
takes one revolution of the large pulley for one revolution of the small pulley. If the large pulley is 20 times the diameter of the stepper motor drive pulley then it takes 20 revolutions of the stepper motor to get one revolution of the large pulley which gets you 10 revolutions of the small pulley on the same shaft as the large pulley. Say that ten times quickly...

raschemmel:
I think an automobile starter motor with a gearbox would be perfect , driven with a car battery and probably an automotive grade IGBT.

Very cool. which got me thinking...