Else command ends a nestled loop, but not how I expected...

Hi all,

I am new to arduino, coming over from parallax and BASIC language, so please forgive the basic nature of this topic, but...

I am attempting to nestle a blinking LED without delay loop inside an If/Else digital button press command.

I hoped letting go of the button would stop the blinking loop with the output pin LOW.
Instead, letting go of the button stops the loop, but continues with whatever state the blinking is in --
e.g. letting go of the button while output is HIGH, output continues to be HIGH.

While I am sure there are more efficient ways to code this, I am just trying to familiarize myself with the new language.
Thanks in advance:

Any advice? See code below:

const int buttonPin = 2;
const int ledPin = 12;

int buttonState = 0;
int ledState = LOW;

unsigned long previousMillis = 0;

const long interval = 1000;

void setup() {
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
  unsigned long currentMillis = millis();

if (buttonState == HIGH) {

if (currentMillis - previousMillis >= interval) {
      previousMillis = currentMillis;

if (ledState == LOW) {
        ledState = HIGH;
      } else {
        ledState = LOW;
      }

digitalWrite(ledPin, ledState);
     } else {
      digitalWrite(ledState, LOW);
     }

} else {
     ledState = LOW;
   }
 }

Always show us your wiring.
How is your switch wired?

BTW
Start getting into the habit of adding comments to your code.

Use "Ctrl T" to format your code so you can see the relation of the { }.

Good habit also to have { and } on separate lines.

Thanks LarryD,

I will start to implement those suggestions! The ctrl+t is already engaged, but I will keep the brackets on their own line and comment in line. In BASIC I was in the habit of commenting before and after the code in a block and using line numbers to indicate what I was referencing.