Else without a previous if - It's not a semicolon problem

I've searched both the forum and google, and I can't seem to find out why my code is returning the "Else" without a previous "if" error. Every example I've found is someone terminating the condition with a semicolon. I'm definitely not doing that. I'm sure it's a newby error of some sort, since I am quite new at this, but I can't for the life of me find it. Can anyone help me here, please? Here's the section of code:

if (ch7 < 1500)    // Only allows Actuators to move if ch7 is switched on
   {
      digitalWrite(R01, HIGH);
      digitalWrite(R02, HIGH);
   }
   else 
   {  
       if (ch5 < 1200 && HallSwitch01 == LOW)
     {
        digitalWrite(R01, LOW);            // Actuator is extending
        digitalWrite(R02, HIGH);
     }
     }
       else if (ch5 < 1200 && HallSwitch01 == HIGH) // Indicates actuator has reached the end of its extending travel
     {
        digitalWrite(R01, HIGH);            // Actuator is turned off and braking
        digitalWrite(R02, HIGH);
     }
       else
     {
        digitalWrite(R01, HIGH);            // Actuator is retracting
        digitalWrite(R02, LOW);
       // if(ch5 < 1200 && HallSwitch01 == LOW)
        // digitalWrite(R02, HIGH);
       // else
        // digitalWrite(R02, LOW);
     }

Here's the section of code:

Why? The compiler told you EXACTLY which line the error was on.

else 
   {  
     {
        digitalWrite(R02, HIGH);
     }
     }
       else if (ch5 < 1200 && HallSwitch01 == HIGH) // Indicates ac

If you had indented the code properly, you'd see that you have an else if after an else statement. That is not allowed.