Embedding arduino into project permanently.

I want to embed an arduino in to a project permanently. It's something I've never done before so I just want to know the best approach.

You can buy atmega328 (the chip I'm using) with or without the bootloader flashed already (e.g. Arduino Boards & Shields - In Stock - UK Same Day Despatch - Proto-PIC).

I know you can also use an existing arduino board to flash a bootloader on to another chip, so this would eliminate the need to spend the extra £2 on a chip with the bootloader on it already.

Which route would you recommend in this case? Is it worth saving £2 per chip for the extra hassle (if any extra hassle), or do preloaded bootloaders never work properly anyway? (Just the sorts of things I'm wondering)

Also I understand I need an FTDI chip to programme them, so does using one of these allow you to flash a bootloader directly from the computer or do I still need to use another arduino board? Is there even a way to programme an arduino using another arduino board (like you can flash a bootloader), allowing me to bypass the FTDI completely? Can you also recommend somewhere to buy one of these from?

Thanks for any help

In lieu of answers to your questions, I would like to offer an alternative you may not be aware of. Having embedded a 328 micro controller in a previous project, I have since abandoned that method. I find that using a Nano to be a better solution since it doesn't take up very much more space than a 328 and socket and has the very nice advantage of having a USB port. It's a 'ready to go' Arduino in a very small package. The last couple I purchased for a little over $5 each with free shipping and received them from that seller in 10 days. - Scotty

Caveat emptor: Nanos with 168 MCU versions.

For burning fresh bootloaders you can't beat an ISP device. You can get a USBasp clone on eBay for under $4 or a USBtinyISP clone for about $5.

Hi,