Emulating rusty joints

Hello everyone,,
I want to make a robot out of cardboard, and then I think it would be cool if I could make it sound like it has rusty joints. In other words I want to be able to have the robot play a sound of a joint squeaking whenever it moves its joints. I don't know if or how this would be possible. I am really new to arduino, so I am really just guessing about how the logic works.

I have thought a lot about how I can best detect the movement of the joints. Proximity sensor? Motion sensor? Probably a flex sensor maybe? But there's some problems. I don't want to play sounds from every little movement, only when the joint actually moves like at least a centimeter (So it wouldnt be superannoying to listen to squeaking all the time). So I guess I could program it to just play a sound when the sensor detects movement over 1 cm. Then I wouldn't get any sound for the first cm of movement, but I don't see any way of fixing this.

And then, of course I want to sound to stop every time the joint stops moving. So this means the arduino couldn't just play a sound file everytime it detects movement, but it would also have to stop playing it whenever it no longer detects any movement. Might be possible, but it would also maybe sound bad, because the sound should preferably have a little fade when it stops, and not just instantly disappear. This might also be possible? I don't know.

I guess the real problem is doing this in real time? Because the sounds should come when the joints move, but I don't see how I can let the arduino know fast enough to play the sound. So it might just seem lagging and weird and not work at all.

If anyone have any theories as to how I might solve this, if it's at all possible, what sensors I might need, or if I could solve the problem a whole different way, I would really appreaciate it. Thanks!