Encoder, motor, actuator - too much for Arduino Uno?

Hello,

I am very new to Arduino and inherited a project with functioning automation and coding. The device has a stepper motor and linear actuator, with A4988 and LNH5019 drivers. The actuator provides feedback to the Arduino.

I wanted to add a control system to ensure the stepper motor positioning was accurate, so I did so by adding an CUI AMT222 encoder on the motor shaft.

I tested the feedback control with an Arduino and it works perfectly. But now I want to add the linear actuator and other driver into the system, and I'm starting to think it's just too much for the Arduino.

Before I added the encoder, the digital pins 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, and 13 were already in use, as well as A0. From my very surface-level understanding, I think the PWM pins can't be used the same way as the other pins. Both the encoder and actuator provide feedback, which I think has something to do with pins 10-13. So compiling the code and hardware won't be as simple as using the "leftover" pins, I'm guessing?

Should I just get a really big breadboard? An Arduino MEGA? Or a second Arduino and figure out a way for them to interact?

Any guidance will be useful! Thank you in advance!!

kmfweldon:
I tested the feedback control with an Arduino and it works perfectly. But now I want to add the linear actuator and other driver into the system, and I'm starting to think it's just too much for the Arduino.

Hogwash. It may be too much for your ability to code the Arduino. But that is a piece of cake for the Arduino with good code.

From my very surface-level understanding, I think the PWM pins can't be used the same way as the other pins

Then you've misunderstood something. All the pins, are usable as regular digital pins. Some have extra functions like analog inputs and pwm, but they all work like normal digital pins if you want to use them that way.