Encoder, Recording the position, speed and direction over time<-----possible?

Hi all I have been a non Arduino using, forum 'lurker' for a while and now i ordered one and im on my way to excting proects.

I need some help, im not a programmer, nor am i a electronics engineer, so excuse my inexperience, i am learning so be gentle. I would like to control a stepper motor with a rotory encoder, this bit i have worked out my self, its absolute position control but the problem is i need to record the motion of the encoder to then play back the motion while i move and record the next axis and so forth for 3 or 4 axis.

is this possible maybe saving to the sd card at about 60 or 120hz? can i record 2 axis simultaneously?

where do i start?

i have so many questions. :fearful:

thanks simon

How many distinct position/time values do you expect to record in total?

Why do you need an encoder in a stepper motor? High load application? You can probably get away with a proximity switch and a flag. Or a fixed position calibration point.

hi peter.

let me give you an example of use so you can get a clearer perspective on what im trying to achieve.

the time sequences to record range from 1 - 5 minutes

during that time i wish to manually control stepper motors and "teach" the arduino, in real time, in actual 1:1 time, where those stepper should be what speed they are going ETC... here is a graph of what i mean http://www.flickr.com/photos/74137762@N04/6681603765/

make sense?

thanks

the key x,y,z is for the motors.

im not looking for 1/100000 sec intervals of resolution maybe max 120 times a second

That all sounds very feasible. The quantity of data you're dealing with is far too much to be stored in EEPROM so you'll need to add an SD card as you suggest. It all looks completely feasible to me.

i wouldnt know where to start! lol

any help would be appreciated.

thanks simon