Energy efficient pet door

I am new to forum as well as electronics. I am looking for guidance on parts and or configuration needed to create a large dog door that slides up and down when dog nears the door. Looking for small rfid tag or other information can attach to dogs collar. I am a Carpenter,energy auditor and building analyst but have never attempted a project along these lines so please bare with me.

This kind of project keeps popping up. An rfid reader with more than a couple inches range is expensive.

Other than RFID is either complicated or heavy (including batteries hanging on the collar).

You can buy them - working on the pet-id pellet. A Cambridge firm makes them - forgot their name..

neat idea - requires a very sensitive transducer.

go googling

regards

Allan

Active RFID will work, not sure how you define energy efficient, though. You want a moving door. The energy used for the RFID system is trivial compared to your motor solution.

Well the energy efficient part will come mostly from my install and fabrication of the sliding panel and air tightness. As far as the consumption for operation is of a lesser concern for now. I don't believe I want or need much range as I don't want the door to open until dogs are right in front of it.really trying to get a basic part list to start. I'm assuming I need a servo or actuator, the tags for collar, rfid reader, etc... it's all foreign enough to me even after googling for days I'm in a bit of a struggle.