Engine Choice & Speed

Hi Everybody
Although I'm new to Arduino and only 17 I signed up for a robotics competition with a friend that is turning out to be a little more complex than we first thought. In a nutshell, we have to go around a 3m square and collect candle-light sized 10 colored wooden chips and bring them back to ''base".

I happened to have a 10 year old Boe-Bot from school and the first question was if we could modify it... but no matter how we tested around with the code, we couldn't make it go quicker than like 20 cm/s, which was slower than some of last year's competition according to YouTube. So the question is:

1. can we drive a small robot with an arduino uno and a battery pack run up to 50 cm/s (think it's around 20 inches/s) with Servos?
  2. Is there a better alternative and in which case what would it be? Traditional DC engines, we also have a few old stepper engines in school

we have access to a laser cutter and a milling machine, so we were thinking of building a new chassi from scratch.

any help is greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

can we drive a small robot with an arduino uno and a battery pack run up to 50 cm/s (think it's around 20 inches/s) with Servos?

With the right servos and the right batteries, yes. Servos are not really designed for speed, though. Using geared motors would result in a faster robot.

Is there a better alternative and in which case what would it be?

Yes. Geared motors.

manfredj:
Is there a better alternative and in which case what would it be? Traditional DC engines, we also have a few old stepper engines in school