Engineering Project - Simulator Controls

The project for my engineering masters is to re-do the control system on the university train simulator amongst other things.

One of the tasks in this requires me to create 2 dials for throttle and brake. These I have chosen to use potentiometers for.

Firstly, is arduino the best option for this? I have very little knowledge of microcontrollers and was curious about what arduino has over say the avr?

Secondly, when choosing my potentiometer, how important are the resistances and voltages? I have decided a wire wound potentiometer is a good choice as they have a long life span and mechanical feel, as well as a using a linear POT. But as far as the resistance and voltage ratings go, I have no idea.

Thanks for any help!

The project for my engineering masters is to re-do the control system on the university train simulator amongst other things.

We have no idea what that is or what it entails. Post the design criteria. Wire wound pots are higher quality and last longer. If it is equipment that needs accuracy or reliability or both they are a good choice. Be specific. List details.

Michael22: what arduino has over say the avr?

Most Arduinos are AVR- only the Due isn't if my memory serves, it's ARM. (I may be wrong).

The Arduino is merely a convenient packaging of an AVR on a nice board which brings the pins out, provides power, a few blinkenlights etc. and allows easy programming via the IDE.

Michael22: One of the tasks in this requires me to create 2 dials for throttle and brake. These I have chosen to use potentiometers for. Firstly, is arduino the best option for this? I have very little knowledge of microcontrollers and was curious about what arduino has over say the avr?

Any microcontroller with an ADC can read the value from a potentiometer. It is easy to do with an Arduino, and pretty much any potentiometer will be fine.