Error: "can't set com-state"

Hello Everyone,

I'm relatively new to programming, but I've always had an interest in robotics. I've just begun playing around with a vilros arduino ultimate starter kit.

In example circuit 10 you spin a motor by inputting the speed you want in the serial monitor.

The code in the example is supposed to spin the motor until I change the speed.

I have two problems (which may be the same problem) I am trying to address. 1) Against my understanding of the function (posted below), the speed is reset back to zero after a few seconds of running at the speed I input. 2) If I make either a small modification, or no modification, and re-upload the sketch to the arduino I will begin to get the following error message:

avrdude: ser_open(): can't set com-state for "\.\COM1"

I have checked to make sure that the arduino is being spoken to via serial com1.

Here is the function of the sketch that I am utilizing:

void serialSpeed()
{
  int speed;

Serial.println("Type a speed (0-255) into the box above,");
  Serial.println("then click [send] or press [return]");
  Serial.println();  // Print a blank line

// In order to type out the above message only once,
  // we'll run the rest of this function in an infinite loop:

while(true)  // "true" is always true, so this will loop forever.
  {
    // First we check to see if incoming data is available:

while (Serial.available() > 0)
    {
      // If it is, we'll use parseInt() to pull out any numbers:

speed = Serial.parseInt();

// Because analogWrite() only works with numbers from
      // 0 to 255, we'll be sure the input is in that range:

speed = constrain(speed, 0, 255);

// We'll print out a message to let you know that the
      // number was received:

Serial.print("Setting speed to ");
      Serial.println(speed);

// And finally, we'll set the speed of the motor!

analogWrite(motorPin, speed);
    }
  }
}

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

How are you powering the motor?