Error compiling for board Arduino Uno; Exit status 1

Hello.
I’m a bit new to Arduino.
I’m working on this project when this error suddenly comes up when compiling.

I am using an Arduino UNO board and the Arduino 1.8.13 IDE and the error says “exit status 1; error compiling for board Arduino UNO”.

It’s confusing to me because I have been working on this project for a while without anything of the sort. In fact, I was done with the project but just decided to change the LCD screen I was using from 16 by 2 to 20 by 4. I also changed my matrix keypad to a different one which had a different layout so I had to change the character mapping to the keys on the newer one.

This was all I did to make this error start popping up. After going through the forum, I deleted the Arduino15 folder and even did a clean reinstall of the program but it persists. Even after reverting, the problem remains.

Here’s my code in case that’s where the problem is from but it’s a bit lengthy.
Also, I’m yet to optimize it finally.
I’ll attach it also.

So I tried using code tags but it exceeds the character limit so it’s just attached.

Project_Working_-basic__added_master.ino|attachment (25.6 KB)

judahben149:
the error says "exit status 1; error compiling for board Arduino UNO".

There is surely much more to it than that. What you have posted only tell us that something went wrong when compiling. There are an infinite number of possible causes of this generic error message. You need to scroll up the black console pane at the bottom of the Arduino IDE window to see the specific error messages that will tell you what went wrong.

After studying those, if you still can't find the solution, feel free to post the full and exact text of the error output here and we'll help you out.

Compiled fine for me

Sketch uses 14454 bytes (44%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.