Error Compiling. undefined reference to...

im fairly new to arduino and coding in C (ive only had experience in Visual Basic (not my choice)) so ive just followed a tutorial on youtube on controlling 2 servos with a joy stick. the only changes that i have made are variable names, the rest is exactly the same, yet im constantly getting multiple error messages when compiling.

the code is;

#include<Servo.h>
Servo SerX;
Servo SerY;
int JoyX = 0;
int JoyY = 1;
int JoyVal;

void setup() {
SerX.attach(3);
SerY.attach(5);
}

void loop() {
JoyVal = analogRead(JoyX);
JoyVal = map (JoyVal, 0, 1023, 0, 180);
SerX.write(JoyVal);
JoyVal = analogRead(JoyY);
JoyVal = map (JoyVal, 0, 1023, 0, 180);
SerY.write(JoyVal);
delay(15);
}

the Error messages i get are below:

C:\Users\james\AppData\Local\Temp\cctAC0Fj.ltrans0.ltrans.o: In function `handle_interrupts’:

C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.21.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\libraries\Servo\src\avr/Servo.cpp:58: undefined reference to `digitalWrite’

C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.21.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\libraries\Servo\src\avr/Servo.cpp:65: undefined reference to `digitalWrite’

C:\Users\james\AppData\Local\Temp\cctAC0Fj.ltrans0.ltrans.o: In function `main’:

C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.21.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\hardware\arduino\avr\cores\arduino/main.cpp:35: undefined reference to `init’

C:\Users\james\AppData\Local\Temp\cctAC0Fj.ltrans0.ltrans.o: In function `attach’:

C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.21.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\libraries\Servo\src\avr/Servo.cpp:241: undefined reference to `pinMode’

C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.21.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\libraries\Servo\src\avr/Servo.cpp:241: undefined reference to `pinMode’

C:\Users\james\AppData\Local\Temp\cctAC0Fj.ltrans0.ltrans.o: In function `loop’: