error invalid device signature

Hello everyone,

I’m very new to programming and arduino in the basics yet I’m trying to burn he bootloader on a bought atmega328p ( I’m doing this with Arduino ISP ) but everytime I want to bootload i get this error. It sometimes gives me 000000ff or something else as the device signature.

avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000 (retrying)

Error while burning bootloader.
Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude: Yikes! Invalid device signature.
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.

Note : if you want to know something or if I have to send you a code be specific on how to send it so there will be no extra difficulties.

greetings,

Jasper

Double check connections and try again... Exactly as written, there is no response from target MCU. Wiring diagram? Here is a lot of topics with same problem. Even from today. Did you read any?

I checked the connections properly and followed all the wiring connections that where made on the guide on this site.

I have red many different guides and tips but since I'm a beginner I don't uderstand a lot of this troubleshouting fixing.

Zero response means that there is no connection to the target device. In 99% of cases it is HW issue in wiring. The guide for Arduino as ISP here on web is correct. You can try Nick Gammon's page which is probably better for beginners.

In any case, Arduino as ISP is about ISP sketch and 6 wires between programmer and target. It is very simple. Please, post photo of your setup.

Alright thanks for mentioning that. I can't send a picture of my layout because the file is too big.Is there any solution?

I had this problem. Always turned out to be wiring was wrong or poor connections, especially with breadboards. Check and check again.

@Kintara: Exactly!