Error whilst burning bootloader.

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie with Arduino but I've recently acquired an Arduino Uno (This particular model), and have been progressing through the example projects in the provided book. However I've recently been getting errors regarding "verification error; content mismatch", I've read that burning the bootloader can resolve this but I'm getting errors doing this too.

Sometimes I get "usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device 'usb' " issues, sometimes just "Error while burning bootloader".

What do I do to effectively reset the arduino to factory state?

Thanks!

Do you have an ISP(in-system programmer) connected to your computer? If so which one are you using and what do you have selected from the Tools > Programmer menu?

I haven't connected anything to the board, it was working out of the box. The only software I had installed was the basic Arduino IDE (which had the Tools > Programmer setting defaulted to AVRISP mkII").

That's why you got that error. You need a programmer to Burn Bootloader. You can use an Arduino as ISP if you have two Arduinos.

I see, got it. Thanks.

Is burning the bootloader the only way to fix the "verification error; content mismatch" issues or is there something I'm missing?

I’ve never encountered that error. In my experience the bootloader either works or it doesn’t work at all. I’ve never experienced something in between. If your Arduino had a buggy bootloader that’s causing the issue then it could be fixed by burning the reliable Uno bootloader that comes with the IDE. If the bootloader was somehow partially corrupted then burning the uncorrupted fresh bootloader could help that too but I’m not sure how likely that scenario is.