Error with the SD library using an Adafruit SD shield w/ Arduino Mega

Noob here, struggling to write data onto an SD card using an Arduino Mega 2560 and an Adafruit dataloging shield. I am 100% certain that the hardware is correctly wired, but whenever compile and upload my code the serial monitor tells me that the SD card failed or is not present. I believe that the error is within the SD library, specifically, in the file SD2Card.cpp. The header file, SD2Card.h says in the coments that when using an Arduino Mega the value of MEGA_SOFT_SPI must be changed from 0 to 1. When I make no change, the code compiles and uploads without error, but the SD card fails. When I change MEGA_SOFT_SPI to 1, the code fails to compile

* Define MEGA_SOFT_SPI non-zero to use software SPI on Mega Arduinos.
 * Pins used are SS 10, MOSI 11, MISO 12, and SCK 13.
 * MEGA_SOFT_SPI allows an unmodified Adafruit GPS Shield to be used
 * on Mega Arduinos.  Software SPI works well with GPS Shield V1.1
 * but many SD cards will fail with GPS Shield V1.0.
 */
#define MEGA_SOFT_SPI 1
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#if MEGA_SOFT_SPI && (defined(__AVR_ATmega1280__)||defined(__AVR_ATmega2560__))
#define SOFTWARE_SPI
#endif  // MEGA_SOFT_SPI
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// SPI pin definitions
//

The error message is as follows:

Arduino: 1.6.6 Hourly Build 2015/07/01 04:14 (Mac OS X), Board: "Arduino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"

/Users/user/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SD/src/utility/Sd2Card.cpp: In member function 'void Sd2Card::chipSelectHigh()':
/Users/user/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SD/src/utility/Sd2Card.cpp:167:5: error: 'SPI' was not declared in this scope
SPI.endTransaction();
^
/Users/user/Documents/Arduino/libraries/SD/src/utility/Sd2Card.cpp: In member function 'void Sd2Card::chipSelectLow()':