Errors while using SoftwareSerial between Arduino and PC

Hello, I am new to Arduino and I’m trying to follow a tutorial where I can send and receive messages between my Arduino and PC. This is the code I wrote (I am using an Arduino UNO).

This is my code:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

#define rxPin 8
#define txPin 7

SoftwareSerial mySerial(rxPin, txPin); // RX, TX
char myChar ; 

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);   
  Serial.println("Goodnight moon!");

mySerial.begin(9600);
  mySerial.println("Hello, world?");
}

void loop(){
  while(mySerial.available()){
    myChar = mySerial.read();
    Serial.print(myChar);
  }

while(Serial.available()){
   myChar = Serial.read();
   mySerial.print(myChar);
  }
}

I get the “Goodnight moon!” message on the serial. However, “Hello, World?” is not printed on the computer (I use putty to check the message being transmitted from Bluetooth).

It would be greatly appreciated if someone could help me find out what’s wrong with the code.

Thanks in advance.

How is your Bluetooth device connected to the Arduino? A common problem is not having Tx connected to Rx and Rx connected to Tx. You also need a GND connection.

Is your Bluetooth device paired with your PC ?

What Bluetooth device are you using? What PC operating system are you using?

...R

Hello, I’m new to Arduino and I’m currently learning about how to display a message on your PC via Bluetooth.

Here is the code for a simple program where you enter something on the Arduino serial and it is displayed on my PC (using putty), which is connected to the Arduino (UNO).

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

#define rxPin 8
#define txPin 7

SoftwareSerial mySerial(rxPin, txPin); // RX, TX

char myChar ; 

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);   
  Serial.println("Goodnight moon!");

mySerial.begin(9600);
  mySerial.println("Hello, world?");
}

void loop(){

while(Serial.available()){
   myChar = Serial.read();
   mySerial.print(myChar);
  }
}