ESC not responding until half throttle.

Hello everybody,

I’m a college student working on a autonomous quadcopter project, the link to the quadcopter we are using is http://www.parallax.com/product/80000. We bought everything in this kit except for the Hoverfly OPEN broad, we instead decided to use a Arduino UNO that we could program ourselves to control the quadcopter.

Currently in my project I am simply trying to control a Brushless Outrunner Motor 1000kv (http://www.parallax.com/product/750-90002) using the Arduino’s Servo library and a ESC (http://www.parallax.com/product/750-90000). The code that I will post at the bottom of this post is meant to simply measure the voltage across a potentiometer, convert it to something the ESC can read using the Servo library, and then write it to the Servo. It also outputs the current signal being sent to the ESC so that I know where the throttle is.

My problem is that as I’m attempting to control the motor I cannot get it to respond until half throttle, at which point the motor will jump to 50% of its max speed. I have checked a number of sites trying to determine why this is happening and no one can really tell me why, all they suggest is to try with a different brand of ESCs. I am currently attempting to resolve the problem starting with a fresh un-calibrated ESC (same brand) and re-calibrating it to see if maybe I messed up the process the first time.

If anyone could help me out with this problem and suggest a few other things I could do to help find the problem I would greatly appreciate it. I’m new to both the Arduino and quadcopter world so I’m having trouble figuring out how to get everything to work. Thank you for taking the time to read this and for any help you may be able to offer.

Code:

#include <Servo.h>                               // This calls the Servo libaray, this libaray will control a servo motor for us.
Servo esc;                                       // creates servo object to control a servo.