Escape Room Prop Feasability

Hello!

I am new to the world of Arduino. I worked in the haunted house industry and used Picaboo controllers for a few years but they have limitations. I am building an aztec-themed piano prop for an escape room and would like to know what equipment/electronics I would need to do the following...

1) There are eight piano keys. I am planning on using snap action switchs or small spring contact switches to send a low-voltage signal to the controller when a key is pressed down. I need eight inputs and outputs so each key when pressed can play a unique audio clip.
2) I also want to program an output (like a door opening) when a certain sequence is played on the piano.

I was planning on getting this Elegoo starter to kit to learn some of the basics. Something tells me I would need a bigger board with more inputs/outputs?

Your link corrected: https://www.amazon.com/ELEGOO-Project-Tutorial-Controller-Projects/dp/B01D8KOZF4

Probably a reasonable idea for a starter kit. Get it and do a whole host of fun projects.

For your end application, a Nano and certain "expander" modules. Of course you are good at soldering?

you can use an arduino uno or mega with an mp3 player sheild (to play sounds) 8 tactile switches can be used for the keys, which can be read by 8 arduino input pins. For the door opening, you could use a solenoid lock, holding down a spring loaded door. The solenoid needs much more power than an arduino output provides, so you can get an arduino compatible relay board for cheap. The arduino uno has 18 io pins, all of which can be used as a digital input, so there will be enough pins to control most prop projects

here is a link to such a board:
https://www.lightinthebox.com/en/p/arduino-5v-relay-module-for-scm-development-home-appliance-
control_p903299.html?