Escape Room reverse motion activated light sensor

Hey Guys & Gals thanks for taking the time to read this.
I’m a noob but I’m not looking for anyone to write code just point me in the right direction of what command I should be researching.
I’m building a motion activated light sensor for my Escape Room.

For testing code I’m just using the arduino uno 1 led & a PIR sensor

Here’s what I’ve been trying to do.
Start with led off.
Watch for motion for 20 seconds. (not wait 20 seconds & read the PIR)
Once 20 seconds pass without motion detected turn led back on.
Turn the led off immediately if motion is detected.

I’m struggling with coding the 20 second wait period.
I took my delay out of the code because all they do is wait to read which isn’t what I want.
I know there’s a simple code out there to fix this I just don’t know where to look. Am I correct that a Delay isn’t what I need?

I’m thinking I need to have the PIR read once a second, keeping a running count of low reads on the PIR and once that count reaches a number greater than 20 turn on the led. Any help at all is greatly appreciated.

int pir = 2;
int light = 13;

void setup()
{pinMode(pir, INPUT);
  pinMode(light, OUTPUT);}

void loop()
{long sensor = digitalRead(pir);
  if(sensor == HIGH){
     digitalWrite (light, LOW);}
   else
   {digitalWrite (light, HIGH);}}

Look at the function millis(). It gives you a count of the number of milliseconds that have passed since last the board was reset. Read your sensor. You need a variable to hold the time of the last motion detected. Every time motion is detected, record millis there. On each pass through the loop, simply compare the current time returned by millis to that time to see if 20 seconds have passed and if so turn your led back on.

Put every { on a new line. Put every } on a new line. Use Tools + Auto Format. Useplentyofwhitespace.

Your code looks like crap.