esp-07s bottom exposed pad, how to use?

I have created an Arduino sketch for the ESP8266, which I have tested on a breakout for ESP-07.
Now I want to make a PCB for the ESP-07S (without built-in ceramic antenna) and when I studied the actual module received a few days ago I found that on the bottom side there is a square about 4x4 mm, which is not covered by the solder mask layer.
Instead it is gold covered so it seems like a connection pad.
Does anyone here know what to do with this "pad"?
I have downloaded the ESP-07S user's manual version 1.0 dated 2016-03-15 from Ai-Thinker and it says nothing about this exposed pad....

BosseB:
I have created an Arduino sketch for the ESP8266, which I have tested on a breakout for ESP-07.
Now I want to make a PCB for the ESP-07S (without built-in ceramic antenna) and when I studied the actual module received a few days ago I found that on the bottom side there is a square about 4x4 mm, which is not covered by the solder mask layer.
Instead it is gold covered so it seems like a connection pad.
Does anyone here know what to do with this "pad"?
I have downloaded the ESP-07S user's manual version 1.0 dated 2016-03-15 from Ai-Thinker and it says nothing about this exposed pad....

From the Google images, I think I see what you are looking at. It is a heat sink to dissipate the heat from the IC on the other side of the board. See the pattern of vias in the pad? They carry the heat from the pad/IC to the pad you are seeing. Be vary careful to not block air from moving around that part of the board.

The IC on the other side has a matching belly pad that is soldered to a copper pad under the chip. Removed with great difficulty.

Paul

Thanks for the explanation! Yes, there are 16 vias in a square pattern.

I wonder how people then utilize this module on their boards?