ESP 8266 Models

Hello,

I know there are few models of the ESP 8266 wifi board. I just wondered if there is a guide on how to choose the appropriate ESP module for my project in general. nothing specific or I would have asked a different question.

I'm new to IoT and new to arduino so I'm trying to understand what should be enough for me and if I should look for another model because this one won't be enough for me.

Some sort of a table that gives you the differences between the models maybe?

Thank you in advance.

This might be a question better asked on ESP8266.com as the chip is not a specific Arduino product but something that people have written an Arduino core for so code can be written and uploaded using the Arduino IDE.

I looked on that forum and found nothing. so it's probably non existent. I guess it's going to be a trial and error kind of think for me as I bet it was and will be for many others.

Thank you for pointing me to that site tho.

Here's some information on the different models: http://www.esp8266.com/wiki/doku.php?id=esp8266-module-family Most of them are really similar. Also there are different versions even of each module, for example there are ESP-01 with 512kB flash and others with 1MB flash. It's really hard to find specific information on them. The ESP-01 is very limited of IO pins and flash. It's confusing because some vendors use bits and some use bytes to describe the flash capacity(there are 8 bits in a byte), what's even worse they use the abbreviation M instead of the proper MB(megabyte) or Mb(megabit). Like it would kill them to add an extra letter to make things less confusing.

Most of the boards you will find use one of the ESP-12 module variants. My favorite is the WeMos D1 Mini. You can buy them for less than $3 USD on Aliexpress or $3.50 USD on eBay and they're nice and small. They have built in USB so you can plug them in and program them directly using the esp8266 Arduino core.