ESP8266 Communication

Helllo!

Today I am trying to figure out the best way to do a project. I am extremely new to internet protocols and would love some pointers on where to start with this:

I have an Arduino Mega currently connected to a sensor and other external indicators. The main thing i'm trying to do here is get the information the sensor reads onto a home server.

My proposal? The ESP8266-01 generic wifi module. I have messed around with this module and have successfully connected it to my home wifi and ran some diagnostic tests to make sure its working (turning a LED on and off with a helpful IoT's website).

At this point I am at a loss of where to continue and where to even look. I have visited the ESP8266 forum and there is a ton of awesome information there, but most of it consists of protocols I don't fully understand and doubt it pertains to my project.

Feasibility wise, am I making this project a lot harder on myself then I need to? If I am on the right track, is there any good starting places to start messing around with programming these ESP8266 modules in a way that receives information from an Arduino Mega and transmit it to server? An example library or something similar to the libraries out there for arduino modules would be perfect, I just need a meaningful way to start actually understanding this code and a way to test.

How I solved this (there may be other ways): - have the ESP8266 craft a POST request with the sensor data, - then on the server side: run a script based on the URL which reads the POST data and puts it in a database. It's a LAMP server, where P stands for Python in my case.

I assume your home server is behind a firewall, so for this to work you'll need your ESP to be on the same network.

If you want to know more about the network protocols involved, check out this article: https://tttapa.github.io/ESP8266/Chap05 - Network Protocols.html