ESP8266 Power

Hi All,

This has probably been asked a 100s of times but I couldn't find what I needed by searching.

Im new to using this platform and want to use it as part of my home automation setup.

I'm looking to mount the device somewhere where there is already a Mains cable coming out of the wall which is powering my existing off the shelf thermostat. Its just screwed into the device into a screw terminal.

Can the ESP8266 board be connected to mains power? Obviously not directly plugged in, but is there any form of step down module that can step down UK mains power to the 5v this board needs?

Thanks
Ross

1 Like

So your module has a regulator to drop 5V to the 3.3V that the ESP8266 needs? There are a lot of phone charges that output 5V (look for the micro USB plug). I buy them for around a dollar (US) each at my local thrift store. Usually they will be marked with the output voltage and current. Look for 5V and at least 500mA. Cut off the plug and wire to your board.

Ah ok,

I did think of doing that but thought it was a bit of a bodge job. I'm currently powering my 8266 via a USB cable into my laptop while i'm still testing bits.

I was hoping for a more elegant solution than hacking up a phone charger to accomplish this?

I think that reusing things that will just be thrown away is an elegant solution.

I have used old phone chargers and other various wall wart transformers for many projects.
It certainly looks more commercial than my other go-to; a LiPo battery and a voltage regulator.

Are you in the UK? If so replace your 13Amp sockets with ones that have USB ports on them

2 Gang USB 13 Amp Sockets

rdavey228:
Ah ok,

I did think of doing that but thought it was a bit of a bodge job. I'm currently powering my 8266 via a USB cable into my laptop while i'm still testing bits.

I was hoping for a more elegant solution than hacking up a phone charger to accomplish this?