ESP8266 - Serial Communication from Arduino is not printing??

Hi,
I'm a newbie to Arduino and would like your help!

I want to make serial communication work between Arduino UNO and ESP8266-01.

To be exact, I want to send an analog input value (from a potentiometer) from Arduino to ESP8266, and print that or write that on the Serial Monitor.

What I did:

• As you can see below - I connected Arduino and ESP8266 via the digital pin 2 and 3 of the Arduino to allow serial communication.
  • I changed the baud rate of ESP8266 to 9600 so that part is ok.
  • I uploaded the ESP8266's code in Flash mode, connecting its GPIO0 and RESET to Ground, and the code uploads ok.
  • Then I unplugged GPIO0 and RESET from Ground, making sure it's not in flash mode. As soon as I do this the blue led on the ESP8266 starts to flash every 1000 msec (I'm guessing this means the serial communication itself is successful, and ESP8266 is receiving the values??).
  • I wired my potentiometer to analog pin 0 of Arduino, and I've checked the pot is working ok.
  • I tried both board mode - Arduino UNO and the Generic ESP8266, but that does nothing.

I want the ESP8299 to print out values between 0 and 255 (from the pot) on the Serial Monitor every 1000 msec, but it prints out nothing. Why? How can I fix this?

Arduino UNO (sender)'s code:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial ESPserial(2,3); // RX | TX

void setup() {
  //Serial Begin at 9600 Baud 
  Serial.begin(9600); //This must always be 9600
  ESPserial.begin(9600);  //This must match the baud rate of the Serial.begin for ESP8266

}

void loop() {
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0); //Getting values from potentiometer
  // print out the value you read:
  sensorValue = map(sensorValue, 0, 800, 0, 255); 
  ESPserial.write(sensorValue); 

delay(1000);        // delay in between reads for stability

}

ESP8266 (receiver)'s code:

byte data; //Initialised variable to store received data

void setup() {
    Serial.begin(9600);
}