ESP8266 shield on UnoR3- 2 questions

Hi all,

Just started working on some smaller Arduino projects, so I'm very new to all this, but also extremely excited.
This weekend I have added a ESP8266 shield and habe some trouble getting it started.

Background info:

• I use Arduino Create as online IDE, which I have upgraded to a "maker" plan
  • I work on a chromebook and have some difficulties recognizing my board in the regular IDE, so using the local IDE is not an option for the moment (I'm working on this though...)
  • the wifi shield does power up correctly and I can see it's signal on my cellphone for example
  • I have found several pieces of info on getting the ESP module started, but they all seem to require windows and the local IDE

My 2 newbie questions:

1. How to proceed for connecting the wifi-module to my network in the cloud IDE?
  2. The shield does not have any female GPIO pins on its upper side, only small solder points. This is unlike the wifi101 shield for example. To me this seems like all GPIOs are now "hidden" by the shield. Any simple solutions to that? I hope this would not mean that I need to solder every time I want to connect something, because this would mean a lot less flexibility... Is there any way to "add" the female part on top?

The shield is NOT one of the official boards supported by the cloud IDE.
Only those listed are supported.

From the side picture it is hard to make out if those headers that are further inboard are the ones used by either the ESP or UNO so a link to where you got the board may be more useful ?

Thx Bob!

Here is the link to the product page of the supplier. VMA205: WLAN ESP-WROOM-02 SHIELD – Velleman – Wholesaler and developer of electronics
I suppose the pins further inside the top side of the ESP shield are the ones to be used then? Difference between analog and digital not very clear (to me) though..