ESP8266

Hey, I'm a complete noob and I am trying to connect my ESP8622 to my computer to program it. However, I cannot even get passed the first step. I can't get the ready message to pop up. I tried Arduino IDE, I've tried Putty, and even flashing it. Nothing will work.
Currently I have the 5v of the Arduino connected through a 1K ohm and a then a 2k Ohm resistor to the VCC, the CH_PD and the reset pins on the ESP.
The GPIO pin 0 is grounded and the ground is as well.
The TX of the Arduino is connected to the RX of the ESP and the RX the Arduino is connected to the TX of the ESP through a 1k ohm and then a 2k ohm resistor.
When running the Arduino IDE and you run the serial port, then type AT, nothing shows up in the box. When using the method print to serial it prints AT but nothing is returned. When using a flashing program it either says failed or cannot connect to device.
Right now there is a blue light and a red light on at all times.

PLEASE HELP ME.

Thank you in advance!

Hello.

Currently I have the 5v of the Arduino connected through a 1K ohm and a then a 2k Ohm resistor to the VCC

Why? Did you think that would be a good way to power the esp? It isn't. You need a 3.3V regulator that can supply at least 300mA.

I use these ams1117 regulator modules:
$_1-1.jpg

You can't use the 3.3V output from the Arduino. It can't supply anywhere near enough current.

Paul

I thought I saw that online somewhere that I can use the 5v of the arduino to power the ESP, using resistors.

What would be the difference between that and a resistor?

Also that would go in between the arduino and the ESP?

I also tried the raspberry pis ports, and no luck there. Does that make a difference???

Would something like this work?

or even this?

Thanks.

Esp tx to arduino tx and esp rx to arduino rx. Thats if you want direct access to the esp.
Load a bare minimum sketch on arduino.

I tried that, it didnt work.

Did you see this...
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=283043.0