ESP8266MOD & LCDproc (hd44780-ethlcd )

Hello all,

I dont know for of all if it’s a good idea in the first place since I can’t find any wifi lcdproc projects. Anywais here it goes.

I’m trying desperately to get this to work with various levels of succes. I’ve triggered about every error from LCDproc server side and i can establish a telnet connection and send data directly to the display. The trouble is i’m trying to port a code on a new coding platform. it’s painful since i’m an eternal noob when it comes to coding to be honest but anywais i usually get some results with my stubbornness. The code i’m try to port to the chip is also a port (picanlcd) but it’s pretty much ready. Ive changed the serial references, added ESP8266WiFi libs. Maybe someone with more experience than me can guide me on this?

I’m using ethlcd driver on lcdproc side

When i restart my lcdproc server on linux side currently this is what i’m getting from serial output:

WiFi connected
IP address:
Starting server on port: 2425
Client Connected
Incoming string: 1
Incoming string: 40
Client disconnected

My ino file looks like this currently:

In attachment

On the LCD itself lcdproc never really got to write more than a couple chars or print the char character in a loop.

There are some checks which arent’ necessary i think but i’m pretty sure i’m close anywais.

IF i can’t post this code publicly i’ll remove it.

I need to get the agreement of the original coder but the person who ported picanlcd to arduino should be here somewhere… If there no objections i’ll post the working code.

DemoCode.ino (10.9 KB)

You may want to look at using the hd44780 library instead of the LiquidCrystal library.
The LiquidCrystal does not properly honor the correct timing for the raw command interface using the command() api call.
That means it is possible to overrun the LCD interface by attempting to send a command before the previous command finishes.