ethernet parking sensor

I am pretty new to Arduinos and programming. I am copying and pasting and hacking my through, trying to learn in the process.

I have an idea for a garage parking sensor. I want to use the HC-SR04 sensor and when it "see's" something at about 2 feet, turn on a stop light. I have a switch on my garage door and I plan on powering this unit up only when the garage door is open. Originally I wanted to use the arduino nano because it is so small.

I have a bread boarded sample working on my desk. I thought about adding a 10k ohm pot to an analog input and use it to control the distance I am looking for.

I also have several arduino uno's and I have a Ethernet shield. Now I am thinking about using the uno and hooking it up to my home network. But I have several questions.

If I hook this up to my home network, would I be able to see it on my network and program it through the network as if it were hooked up via the usb port? I assume I would have to leave it on all time, not power it up when the door is open. Instead of the 10k pot I would like to change the sensing distance from my pc. Is this do-able? Going further, it would be nice if I could get it to send a message or something when the sensor hits.

Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas.

would I be able to see it on my network

Yes

and program it through the network as if it were hooked up via the usb port?

No. Apart from the practicalities of getting the signal in the right form, you have the rug pulled from under you when you start uploading a program because nothing is running a program.

Instead of the 10k pot I would like to change the sensing distance from my pc. Is this do-able?

Yes

Going further, it would be nice if I could get it to send a message or something when the sensor hits.

Yes that is fine too.