Ethernet receive UDP multicast

Hi there

I'm trying to receive art-net messages on my arduino with ethernet shield. But i have some problems receiving multicasted udp packets. The thins is, art-net is supposed to either be on the 2.0.0.0/8 or 10.0.0.0/8 ip range, and not the standard 192.x.x.x. When i try to multicast some messages manually from processing, and my arduino and computer is set to 192.x.x.x ip range, then multicasting (to 192.x.x.255) works fine, but when i set my computer to 2.0.0.3 for example, and arduino 2.0.0.4, and multicast (to 2.255.255.255), then my arduino does not receive the messages (although the RX blinks). The subnet is set to 255.0.0.0 (but i've also tried other subnets). I'm very new in all this ip range shit, so i might just be stupid! But anybody knows something about this? I can't really change the senders way of multicasting, since i'm hooking up to a big expensive lighting desk (GrandMA).

Jonas Jongejan

In order to communicate over IP you need an IP address, subnet mask, AND A GATEWAY ADDRESS.

If you specify a manual IP address in Ethernet.begin() and don't specify a gateway address it will assume the gateway (router) has the same first three octets as your Arduino and with a fourth octet of '1'. In your example of the Arduino using 2.0.0.4 it would assume the router is at 2.0.0.1. Is that a correct assumption?

I'm not really sure what else to set it to? There is no router in the system (its just a cat5 cable between arduino and lighting desk / computer). So are there other meaningful ip addresses to set the gateway to? And could that influence the multicast problem?

Right now my feeling is that multicasting on 2.0.0.0/8 and 10.0.0.0/8 networks doesn't work on arduino!

If you don't have a router in the system you should probably specify the PC as the gateway.

Ethernet.begin(MAC address, IP address, DNS server address, gateway address, subnet);