Ethernet sharing on arduinos?

Hi. I am an arduino noob/virgin… go easy lols

I am looking to expand on the artnet - dmx nodes that can be built where it is recommended to use 1 arduino per dmx output for the best resolution.

In the end i´d like to create a finnished “product” mounted in a box with 2, 3 or 4 dmx universe outputs.

What I´m trying to work out is at what stage the processing is done on the arduino. They say that using just one arduino with 4 universes will cause it to crash, I think it was an overflow issue…
ANYWAY…

To prevent a spaghetti of cabling and having to hide a network switch inside the box (and power it) as well, is there a way to share one network sheild with say 3 arduinos so that they all read from the same sheild but each arduino will convert just its dmx universe?

Or will it just need one sheild per arduino?

What do you mean by dmx google thinks its a rapper!.

Mark

DMX 512 is a serial signal used in professional lighting..

basically the idea is arduino takes an ethernet signal, and spits out a data signal I want for lighting (on another shield)

I don't know what Artnet is or what a DMX universe is, but it sounds as if you have reached the limits of what can be done on one Arduino. I suggest you need to be clear which Arduino this is based on and what resource is the limiting factor on that Arduino. There are alternative Arduinos and clones with more I/O pins and more memory, and also more processing power - it may be possible to avoid the complexity and cost of multiple Arduinos if you can fit everything onto one.

Agreed, I´d love to fit everything onto one and Just have a nice small package with less interconnections (that can go wrong during a concert etc).

IF I take the lazy option and just copy someone else´s project, I am restricted to the uno (for one output) or the mega for more