ethernet sheid / mega 2560 / upload problems.

First of all.. I am new to the arduino and hardware like this.

I am using Linux. ( fedora )

I have the 1.0 arduino software from the arduino site installed.

If I do NOT have the ethernet shield installed, I can upload the Blink example program to /dev/ttyACM1 and the correct led blinks on and off. I can change the values ( duration of on / off ) and re-upload, etc.

The issue happens when I have the Ethernet Shield ( wd1500 ? based ) attached and try and do the same file upload. I get: Binary sketch size: 1586 bytes (of a 258048 byte maximum) avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout I see the RX light on the mega 2560 board blink about the same time the linux box gives a timeout message.

if I remove the ethernet shield then I can re-upload again. On a successful upload ( ethernet shield not attached ) the red and green TX / RX lights on the mega 2560 board flash during the program upload.

Am I supposed to upload the software... then attach the ethernet shield or should I be able to upload to the board with the ethernet shield attached? I don't have a ethernet cable attached... for the initial testing.. I don't really need the ethernet shield... I will need that in the future once I have the main project working and need to send it updates via ethernet.

jack

This is a known problem with the Mega. I just got burned by it today as well.

I've read several "fixes" but nothing really seems to be working. I'm still new to Arduino, so maybe someone with a little more skill than me can help?

Does the mega 2560 not work with ANY shields... or is this problem limited to the Ethernet shield?