Ethernet sheild and tlc5940

Hi,

I have the arduino made ethernet shield and a tlc5940 in my new project and i'm not having much luck to get them to work together as they use the same pins. I'm using the tlc5940 library (http://code.google.com/p/tlc5940arduino/) and the ethernet library. I've done a google search and after trying what came back none of it was successful. I was wondering if anyone could show me step by step on how to get them to work together. Can it be kept quite simple as im a novice to arduino libraries. I have an arduino mega 2560

i can get them to work individually with no problems

Thanks in advance Dan

Although I would expect that setup (Mega2560, Ethernet Shield and TCL5940) to be possible to work I'd suggest to replace the TLC5940 if ever possible. You didn't tell us what you use the TCL5940 for, so providing alternatives doesn't really make sense. If you want to go the hard way (use the current setup), you have to rewrite the TLC5940 library to use other timers and other pins. Fortunately the Mega2560 should have enough of them and the rest of the pins (synchronous serial communication) use bit-banging only, so there a pin change is easy.

im using the tlc5940 to control random cross ssr for home automation lighting

Do you know the Adafruit breakout with the PCA9685?

http://www.adafruit.com/product/815

It provides also 16 PWM channels with 12bit resolution but is controlled by I2C and so uses only 2 pins of your Arduino. You can even use many of them on the same Arduino. And it works without any problem with the Ethernet Shield installed.

unfortunately i am unable to change the ic at this stage in the product

i was hoping to change pin 10 (blank) on the tlc5940 to another pin everything else seems to work

The pin setup for the Mega is here. Where do you see D10, except in the optional section. Stay away from the optional pins.