Ethernet shield connection problem

NOTE: I have to remove the URLS in the code because this server thinks it’s spam, so don’t mind the funky ethernet println that seems strange, it’s not where it crashes anyway.

Hi,

I’m just starting out, i’m a seasonned senior programmer but definitely not an electronician, thats why arduino seduced me at first.

I just got an DFRobots Ethernet Shield and LCD Shield, LCD works fine, but i can’t seem to make the ethernet work correctly. It is a problem of connecting, so the most basic one out there.

My home gateway/router/switch info is:
ip: 192.168.1.1
subnet: 255.255.255.0
brand/model: linksys/wrt54g

And i’m sure there are no devices with the mac address or ip address like configured in the script.

#include <Ethernet.h>

byte mac[] = {0x2E, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED};
byte ip[] = {192, 168, 1, 177};
byte gateway[] = {192, 168, 1, 1};
byte netmask[] = {255, 255, 255, 0};

byte server[] = {174, 120, 8, 130}; // CrazyCoders

Client client(server, 80);

void setup()
{
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip, gateway, netmask);
  Serial.begin(9600);

delay(1000);

Serial.println("connecting...");

if (client.connect()) {
    Serial.println("connected");
    client.println("GET  HTTP/1.1"); 
    client.println("Host: ");
    client.println("Content-length: 0");
    client.println("User-Agent: Arduino/1.1");
    client.println();
  } else {
    Serial.println("connection failed");
    Serial.println(client.status(),DEC);
  }
}

void loop()
{
  if (client.available()) {
    char c = client.read();
    Serial.print(c);
  }

if (!client.connected()) {
    Serial.println();
    Serial.println("disconnecting.");
    client.stop();
    for(;;)
      ;
  }
}

This is pretty much the example taken from the website adapted to my own website. I have nothing in my server logs.