Ethernet Shield Not Working

So I am new at all of this, I recieved the ethernet shield (from Sparkfun) and I have tried to get it working but I am having problems.

I can run the example sketch ChatServer with an ip/gateway/subnet defined within my network. It works fine because it is running locally on my network.

I have tried to use the WebClient example with the same ip/gateway/subnet that i used with the ChatServer example and all I seem to get is "connection failed..." and then "disconnected"

I have no idea what is wrong, I port forwarded port 80, but still nothing....and there seems to be nothing out there to help me. :-?

I port forwarded port 80

Bad idea: for a client, you don’t need it, because port forwarding is for allowing outside connections to port 80 on your ISP-assigned address to get in to a particular machine on your LAN. For a server, you don’t want it, because port 80 is one of the most popular ones for mischief-makers to probe. If you’re going to allow outside connections to your Arduino, it’s better to pick some oddball port number: it’ll greatly reduce the number of probes the poor little Arduino has to suffer from among the millions of zombie PCs that bad guys have searching for vulnerable systems. I usually go with something in the 8000 range for embedded systems. But not 8080, because that’s a popular “alternate” port number for web servers, so it gets probed a lot, too.

You’re probably getting the connection failure because the IP address in the webclient example is outdated: I tried with wget, and it failed, too. And “host www.google.com” now returns a completely different set of addresses. Interestingly, google gave me a 403 error when I tried to wget from one of those IPAs. Maybe google is tired of being the world’s “client test site” ::slight_smile: