Ethernet shield refusing to play ball

Hi All,

I’m fairly new to Arduino and programming in general so please bare with me :slight_smile:

I have a project which requires sending some simple command to a device from arduino using Telnet, but I’ve started at the very beginning and am trying to get my shield to work with some of the example sketches. Currently I have tried to make the the WebServer example work to no avail.

I am using a Mega 2560 with Ethernet Shield 2. I’ve used the Webserver example with the only change I’ve made to the sketch is entering the correct Mac Address for my shield;

The sticker reads 90-A2-DA-10-82-FE, so I have modified the sketch to read 0x90, 0xA2, 0xDA, 0x10, 0x82, 0xFE

I then connected the shield to Netgear ProSafe 16 Port Smart Switch and a MBP to the same switch switch with nothing else plugged in. I set my Macs IP to 192.168.1.100 with no router setup and can’t connect to 192.168.1.177 (shield’s address) I simply get “server did not respond” message.

I also tried connecting the arduino to a DHCP router (connected to my home internet) and I still can’t reach the shield. I’ve tried Pinging it from terminal (both direct to mac through switch and via DHCP router) with a constant timeout or “Host is down” message.

Doing some research I found a tiopic where someone had a similar problem and where it was suggested to test the shield with this code:

#include <SPI.h>[color=#222222][/color]
#include <Ethernet.h>[color=#222222][/color]
[color=#222222][/color]
byte mac[] = {  0x00, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };[color=#222222][/color]
[color=#222222][/color]
void setup() {[color=#222222][/color]
  Serial.begin(9600);[color=#222222][/color]
[color=#222222][/color]
  // disable SD SPI[color=#222222][/color]
  pinMode(4,OUTPUT);[color=#222222][/color]
  digitalWrite(4,HIGH);[color=#222222][/color]
[color=#222222][/color]
  Serial.print(F("Starting ethernet..."));[color=#222222][/color]