Example/Help with using buttons to change variable values

I have a project that I would like to deploy, however I would like to update some variables in order to tweak it while using w/o connecting to a PC to upload the change. This is my first project and I haven't found a example of how to do this to help me figure it out.

Plan is to kick off a "set up mode" when 2 buttons are pushed during one of the loops.
Once in this set-up mode LCD would display the variables one at a time and I would move the the next variable or change up or down and update the variable.

Once updated these variables would remain till power is removed or the device is reset.

Basic Hardware set-up:
Using the micro controller
Project using 4 push button using INPUT_PULLUP using Ground and pin D3-D6
Servo using Pin D2
1602 LCD using the IIC/I2C interface using pin A4/A5 Ground and 5v

I would like to get to the set-up function when two buttons are pressed at the same time (get to a set-up screen for example)

Example:
Change one variable from a value between either 0 or 1
Change another variable between 1 thru 10 then loop back to 1

Any examples where you use buttons to change a variable would be helpful. I've found using serial updates which I think is going down the path. Examples are great as I learn better by reverse engineering what others have done.

My kids are helping... I love seeing them think out loud on ideas they have. Creative juices flowing is never a bad thing.

I would like to get to the set-up function when two buttons are pressed at the same time

So, what is the problem?

You have some code you haven't shown. You have some switches connected, somewhere, somehow. You can't expect help with your code when you haven't shown anything.

Search for "Arduino button library".

Instead of buttons you might like to consider an Android device as your control centre/dashboard.

Not as challenging as you might at first imagine.