Example project doesn't work, unipolar/bipolar stepper.

So I'm a noob working my way thru the examples for a mega kit. I get to the stepper and it's not a very exciting tutorial, so I found this one instead:

It uses the same stepper (28BYJ-48) and the chip in the controller is the same except mine has an 'N' at the end: ULN2003A vs ULN2003AN

He uses a Uno, I have a Mega.

He says the motor is a bipolar:

// Set up the stepper as 4 wire bipolar on pin 4,5,6,7

The PDF for the motor says it's a unipolar and I had that one working.

The other issue is the uno vs mega. I thought I had a link that compared these, but now I can't find it. So I need to know which pins on the mega would map to what he's using on the UNO.

My advice is to start by getting the simple sketch at File > Examples > Stepper > stepper_oneRevolution working. You can find a tutorial about it here:

Once you are sure your stepper motor is working, you can move on to the more complicated project you found on the Arduino Project Hub. When you're having troubles, it's a bad idea to start with a complicated project because you have no way of knowing which part of the project isn't working. Your stepper might be perfectly fine and the project isn't working because the serial communications are not set up right.

You can use any pins on your Arduino you want, so it makes not difference whether you're using an Uno or a Mega. You just need to be sure that the pins you're using are correctly configured in the sketch.

The 28BYJ-48 is a unipolar stepper motor with 5 wires coming from it. A bipolar motor will have 4 wires. You can also get motors with 6 wires that can operate as either unipolar or bipolar.

chip in the controller is the same except mine has an 'N' at the end: ULN2003A vs ULN2003AN